Nominations for the 16th Legal Aid Practitioners Group Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards are now open

New for 2018: Practice manager award

Nomination period ends 10 April; winners to be announced at awards at ceremony on 17 July in central London.

Nominations for the 2018 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards are now open. There are 12 awards in total including Children’s Rights, Public Law, Housing, Access to Justice through IT, and Criminal Defence (see full list, below).

LAPG director Carol Storer says:

‘For the first time this year, we are introducing an award specifically to recognise the role of legal aid practice managers, who do a vital and increasingly challenging job. They are often the bedrock of the sector, providing the leadership and stability, which allow legal aid lawyers to continue to deliver access to justice to clients.’

For the third year running, LALY18 will be crowdfunding for sponsorship for the popular Legal Aid Newcomer award, allowing supporters to show solidarity with the profession by donating to become Friends of LALY18. All money raised will go towards the cost of staging the event, and to keeping ticket prices affordable.

Full details of how to become a Friend of LALY18 see:


All LALY nominations must be submitted online via:

The 2018 award categories in full are:

* Children’s Rights

* Criminal Defence

* Family (including Mediation)

* Housing

* Public Law

* Social and Welfare

* Legal Aid Newcomer

* Legal Aid Barrister

* Practice manager

* Legal Aid Firm/Not-for-profit Agency

* Access to Justice through IT

* Outstanding Achievement


LALY18 sponsors are:


Anthony Gold

The Bar Council

Garden Court Chambers

DG Legal

Irwin Mitchell

The Law Society

The Legal Education Foundation

Matrix Chambers



Legal Action Group (media partner)


Follow the LALYs on Twitter



Find us on Facebook



Carol Storer, LAPG director

020 7833 7431

07432 104088


Fiona Bawdon, LALY organiser

020 8211 0903

07740 644474